Prix de littérature de l’Union européenne

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers

Auteurs primés

Sunjeev Sahota, Royaume-Uni

A propos de l'auteur:

Sunjeev Sahota est né en 1981 dans le Derbyshire. Son premier roman, Ours are the Streets, a été défini « nothing short of extraordinary » (tout simplement extraordinaire, NdT) par l’Observer, et « a moral work of real intelligence and power » (une œuvre morale d'une véritable intelligence et puissance, NdT) par le Times. Son deuxième roman, The Year of the Runaways, a gagné le Prix littéraire South Bank Sky Arts et le Prix Encore. Il a également été sélectionné pour le Prix Man-Booker en 2015. En 2013, Sahota est paru sur la liste des meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques, publiée par la revue Granta.

Editeur:

Picador
Website
E-mail
+44 2070 146054

Agent / Directeur des droits:

Will Francis
wfrancis@janklow.co.uk

Livre primé:

The Year of the Runaways, 2015

Synopsis:

The Year of the Runaways raconte les rêves audacieux et les difficultés quotidiennes d'une famille improbable réunie par les circonstances. Après avoir fui l'Inde, treize jeunes hommes à la recherche désespérée d'une nouvelle vie vivent ensemble dans une maison à Sheffield. Tarlochan, autrefois chauffeur de tuk-tuk, ne révèle rien sur son passé à Bihar. Avtar garde un secret le forçant à protéger le turbulent Randeep qui, à son tour, est engagé dans un mariage blanc. Dans un appartement à l'autre bout de la ville, sa femme dévouée et ingénieuse garde des placards remplis des vêtements de son mari, au cas où les autorités de l'immigration l'appellent.

En voyageant entre l'Inde et l'Angleterre, et entre l'enfance et le présent, le roman volumineux et inoubliable de Sunjeev Sahota est, tout comme le livre A Fine Balance de Rohinton Mistry, une histoire de dignité face à l'adversité et du triomphe ultime de l'esprit humain.

Autres travaux:

Ours are the Streets

London: Picador, 2010.

European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers

Winning Authors

Sunjeev Sahota, United Kingdom

About the author:

Sunjeev Sahota was born in 1981 in Derbyshire. His debut novel, Ours are the Streets, was called 'Nothing short of extraordinary' by the Observer, and 'A moral work of real intelligence and power' by the Times. His second novel, The Year of the Runaways, won the South Bank Sky Arts Award for Literature, and the Encore Award. It was also shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2015. In 2013, Sahota was named as one of Granta magazine's Best of Young British Novelists.

Publishing house:

Picador

Website
E-mail
+44 2070 146054

Book awarded:

The Year of the Runaways, 2015

Synopsis:

The Year of the Runaways tells of the bold dreams and daily struggles of an unlikely family thrown together by circumstance. Thirteen young men live in a house in Sheffield, each in flight from India and in desperate search of a new life. Tarlochan, a former rickshaw driver, will say nothing about his past in Bihar; and Avtar has a secret that binds him to protect the chaotic Randeep. Randeep, in turn, has a visa-wife in a flat on the other side of town: a clever, devout woman whose cupboards are full of her husband's clothes, in case the immigration men surprise her with a call.

Sweeping between India and England, and between childhood and the present day, Sunjeev Sahota's generous, unforgettable novel is – as with Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance – a story of dignity in the face of adversity and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit.

Other Works:

Ours are the Streets

London: Picador, 2010.