European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


11 October 2011

Winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Literature

The winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Literature, which recognises the best new or emerging authors in the EU, were announced today at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The winners are: Kalin Terziyski (Bulgaria), Tomáš Zmeškal (Czech Republic), Kostas Hatziantoniou (Greece), Ófeigur Sigurðsson (Iceland), Inga Zolude (Latvia) Iren Nigg (Liechtenstein), Immanuel Mifsud (Malta), Andrej Nikolaidis (Montenegro), Rodaan Al Galidi (Netherlands), Jelena Lengold (Serbia), Ciler Ilhan (Turkey), and Adam Foulds (United Kingdom). See below for details of the winning works. Each winner gets € 5,000 and the opportunity to see their book translated into other languages to boost its cross-border appeal.

"I congratulate the exceptional winners of this year's prize and I hope that that they will make use our support for 'literary translation' so that that as many readers as possible can enjoy their books, in as many languages as possible. I would also like to pay tribute to Europe's resilient book publishing industry which is the world  leader in its field, employing 135,000 people and contributing € 23 billion a year to EU GDP", said Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The European Union Prize for Literature is organised by the European Commission, the European Booksellers' Federation (EBF), the European Writers' Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP). The competition is open to the 36 countries involved in the EU Culture Programme (the 27 Member States, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Croatia, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey). Each year, national juries in 12 of the participating countries nominate the winner authors, so that all countries in the programme are represented over a three-year period.

This year's winners will be presented with their awards at a ceremony in Brussels on November 28th, in the presence of Commissioner Vassiliou and leading public figures from the worlds of literature, culture and politics. They will include Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands, chair of the EU High-Level Group on Literacy, Bogdan Zdrojewski, Polish Minister for Culture and Heritage, and Doris Pack, chair of the European Parliament's Culture and Education Committee.

European Commission: Dennis Abbott  (+32 2 295 92 58) - Dina Avraam  (+32 2 295 96 67)
EUPL Press Agency – eu.Ness: Caroline Hayat (+32 2 374 07 05)

To find out more:
EUPL website:
Culture portal of the European Union:


The winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Literature are:

Author: Kalin Terziyski
Title: Има ли кой да ви обича,Издателство/ Is there anybody to love you (short stories)

Author: Tomáš Zmeškal
Title: Milostný dopis klínovým písmem/ A Love Letter in Cuneiform Script

Author: Kostas Hatziantoniou
Title: Agrigento

Author: Ófeigur Sigurðsson
Title: Jon

Author: Inga Zolude
Title: Mierinājums Ādama kokam/A Solace for Adam’s Tree (a collection of stories)

Author: Iren Nigg
Title: Man wortet sich die Orte selbst/ Wording the Places Oneself

Author: Immanuel Mifsud
Title: Fl-Isem tal-Missier (tal-iben)/In the Name of the Father (and of the Son))

Author: Andrej Nikolaidis
Title: Sin/The Son

Author: Rodaan Al Galidi
Title: De autist en de postduif/ The Autist and the Carrier-Pigeon

Author: Jelena Lengold
Title: Vašarski Mađioničar/ Fairground Magician

Author: Ciler Ilhan
Title: Sürgün/ Exile

Author: Adam Foulds
Title: The Quickening Maze

EUPL Press Release 11 10 2011.pdf