European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


22 November 2012

2012 EUPL Awards Ceremony

Tonight, the 2012 EU Prize for Literature (EUPL), rewarding the best new or emerging authors in the EU, will be presented to the winners during a gala ceremony[1] to be held at the Albert Hall Complex in Brussels. Nominated by national juries, the twelve talents are Anna Kim (Austria), Lada Žigo (Croatia), Laurence Plazenet (France), Viktor Horvàth (Hungary), Kevin Barry (Ireland), Emanuele Trevi (Italy), Giedra Radvilavičiūtė (Lithuania), Gunstein Bakke (Norway), Piotr Paziński (Poland), Afonso Cruz (Portugal), Jana Beňová (Slovakia) and Sara Mannheimer (Sweden). Each of them will receive € 5,000 and will be given priority to receive EU translation grants. Since 2010, 32 of the 35 EUPL winners have had their books translated into up to 30 languages, thereby increasing their cross-border appeal.

The awards will be presented by Androulla Vassiliou, the Commissioner in charge of Culture, Education, Multilingualism and Youth, and Doris Pack, Chair of the European Parliament's Culture and Education Committee, in the presence of other public figures from the fields of culture, literature and politics.

[1] The registration is open until 7 pm. Please send an e-mail to or call +32 486 90 69 92 if you wish to join us.