European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


9 April 2013

City of Bohane by Kevin Barry, shortlisted for the 2013 IMPAC Award

Ten novels have been shortlisted for the 2013 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award.

The list includes City of Bohane by Irish author Kevin Barry, EUPL winner in 2012, five novels in translation (from Japan, Iceland, Norway, the Netherlands and France); one British and three American novels.

The shortlisted titles, announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin Naoise Ó Muirí, Patron of the Award, in Dublin on April 9 are:

  1. City of Bohane by Kevin Barry (Irish) (first novel), published by Jonathan Cape;
  2. The Map and the Territory by Michel Houellebecq (French), translated from the original by Gavin Bowd, published by William Heineman;
  3. Pure by Andrew Miller (British), published by Sceptre;
  4. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (Japanese), translated from the original by Jay Rubin and Philip Gabriel, published by Harvill Secker and Alfred A. Knopf;
  5. The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka (Japanese American), published by Alfred A. Knopf;
  6. The Tragedy of Arthur by Arthur Phillips (American), published by Random House Inc.;
  7. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (American) Published by Alfred A. Knopf
  8. From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón (Icelandic), translated from the original by Victoria Cribb, published by Telegram Books;
  9. The Faster I Walk, The Smaller I Am by Kjersti Skomsvold (Norwegian), (first novel), translated from the original by Kerri A. Pierce, published by Dalkey Archive Press;
  10. Caesarion by Tommy Wieringa (Dutch), translated from the original by Sam Garrett, published by Portobello Books.

"This is a list of high quality literature that includes five novels in translation which readers might not otherwise get the opportunity to read", said Lord Mayor Cllr. Naoise Ó Muirí, "and I am delighted to see an Irish author, Kevin Barry, on the list. This is a real tribute from the judges to the quality of Irish contemporary writing".

The Lord Mayor reminded Dubliners that they can borrow the shortlisted novels from Dublin City Public Libraries, remarking that "readers have plenty of time to pick their own favourites between now and June 6, when I will announce the winner'.

"This is the highest number of books in translation on the shortlist since the award began", said Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, "and it is wonderful to have novels from Japan and Iceland as well as France, the Netherlands and Norway. The list also includes novels from the USA, the UK and Ireland. There is something here for everyone and I urge readers to get stuck in and enjoy the humour and sadness, history and fantasy, teenage and elderly angst on this year’s shortlist".

The ten short listed titles were nominated by public libraries in Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Russia, South Africa, Spain, the Netherlands, and the USA.

Two of the shortlisted authors are previous winners: Andrew Miller won the prize in 1999 for his novel Ingenious Pain and Michel Houellebecq was awarded the prize in 2002 for his novel Atomised.

The five-member international judging panel, chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner which will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin and Patron of the Award, Councillor Naoise ÓMuirí on Thursday 6th, June 2013.