European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


26 September 2013

Winners of 2013 EU Prize for Literature announced!

The EU Prize for Literature rewards the best new or emerging authors throughout Europe.
Organised by the European Commission in cooperation with the European Booksellers
Federation, European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers, the
competition is open to authors in the 37 countries involved in the EU Culture Programme1.
Each year, national juries in a third of these countries nominate the winning authors, so that all
countries are represented over a three-year period.

This year’s 12 winners have been revealed today during the opening ceremony of the
Göteborg Book Fair by Androulla Vassiliou, EU Commissioner for Education, Culture,
Multilingualism and Youth.

PR EUPL 2013 Winners.pdf