European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


2 April 2015

Winners of the Prize will be announced at LBF’s Opening Ceremony


Winners of the Prize will be announced at LBF’s Opening Ceremony

Date: Tuesday 14th April, 12:00                      

Venue:  East Hall Conference Room, 3rd Floor, Olympia

The London Book Fair (LBF) is delighted to announce that the winners of the European Union Prize for Literature 2015 will be revealed at the Opening Ceremony at the Fair on Tuesday 14 April.  The announcement will be made by Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport.  It marks the beginning of a new partnership between LBF and the European Union Prize for Literature which sees a strong focus on the promotion of the winning authors within the book trade.

The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is to put the spotlight on the creativity and wealth of European contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The selected countries for the 2015 Prize are Austria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden. The winning authors from Norway and Portugal will be at the Opening Ceremony and available for interview.

This is the first time in the 44-year history of The London Book Fair that there has been an Opening Ceremony, which marks LBF’s new location, returning to the newly refurbished Olympia, London.  Speakers at the event will represent different regions of the world and will include His Highness, Sheikh Sultan Al-Qasimi for the Arab World; Brian Murray, President and CEO of HarperCollins Publishers Worldwide, for North America and Mr Tan Yue, President of China Publishing Group, for Asia.   Commissioner Tibor Navracsics will speak for Europe.

For further information, please contact Steven Williams - Tel:  020 7361 7860, email:

EU Prize for literature press release - final 01 04 15.pdf