European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


23 June 2015

Award ceremony of the 2015 EU Prize for Literature

Tonight, we will have a marvellous opportunity to listen to the best emerging authors in Europe, and get carried away by their stories. We will take you on an interesting journey through the land of human relationships, trauma of displaced people and trans-communication between parallel worlds. Together we will look back at the darkness of a tiny island, inside the mystery of a psychiatric hospital, at the dangers of deceptive love and into enigmatic deaths during the ‘80s. You will hear a lot about different cultural perspectives, the spirit of rural Ireland and its dangerous tensions, the importance of family bonds, the difficulties of dealing with death, and about finding hope and finding your soul.

These twelve talented authors will read out a passage of their book and receive their award during the gala ceremony of the 2015 EU Prize for Literature (EUPL), to be held at Concert Noble, in Brussels.

This year’s winners are:

Carolina Schutti (Austria) Undinė Radzevičiūtė (Lithuania)
Luka Bekavac (Croatia) Ida Hegazi Høyer (Norway)
Gaëlle Josse
Magdalena Parys
Edina Szvoren (Hungary) David Machado
Donal Ryan
Svetlana Žuchová (Slovakia)
Lorenzo Amurri (Italy) Sara Stridsberg

The awards will be presented by Tibor NAVRACSICS, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, together with Silvia COSTA, MEP and Chair of the Culture and Education Committee, and Dagnija GRĪNFELDE, Advisor to the Minister of Culture for the Latvian Presidency. The ceremony will also be attended by Culture Ministers of this year's participating countries, and by other leading figures from the world of literature, culture and politics.

Organised by the European Commission in cooperation with the European Writers' Council, the Federation of European Publishers and the European and International Booksellers Federation, the competition is open to authors in the 37 countries involved in the EU Creative Europe programme1. The winners, nominated by national juries, will receive € 5,000 and will be given priority to receive EU translation grants through the support programme for Europe's cultural and creative sectors, Creative Europe.

The translation of more than 56 EUPL winners’ books since 2009 already allowed them to be read by a much larger audience throughout Europe.
One of the winners will also benefit from one month residency in Brussels thanks to our partner Passa Porta bookshop.

Contact: EUPL Communication Agency | eu.Ness: Muriel Danis (+32 486 90 69 92)
Info: Website of the Prize | Twitter | Facebook | Culture portal of the EU | Creative Europe

1 The 28 EU Member States, the EFTA/EEA countries Iceland and Norway as well as candidate and potential candidate countries to EU membership. List of eligible non-EU countries available at:

PR EUPL 2015 - EN.pdf