European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


5 April 2016

The 12 winners 2016 revealed by the European Commission

The winners of the 2016 European Union Prize for Literature were announced today at the European Commission by Mr. Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport. The award recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe. This year’s winners are:

Christophe Van Gerrewey (Belgium); Tanja Stupar-Trifunović (Bosnia and Herzegovina); Antonis Georgiou (Cyprus); Bjørn Rasmussen (Denmark); Paavo Matsin (Estonia); Selja Ahava (Finland); Nenad Joldeski (former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia); Benedict Wells (Germany); Gast Groeber (Luxembourg); Claudiu M. Florian (Romania); Jasmin B. Frelih (Slovenia) and Jesús Carrasco (Spain).


Want to know more about the winners and the annoucement? 

Download our press kit

EUPL_press release_2016.pdf