European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


10 April 2018

EUPL at London Book Fair 2018

The European Union Prize for Literature celebrates Baltic laureates and its 10th Anniversary Writing Contest.

At the Market Focus Opening Ceremony on Tuesday, 10 April 2018, the Vice-President of the European Commission responsible for the Digital Single Market, Mr. Andrus Ansip will, in his speech, reference the 10th anniversary of the European Union Prize for Literature and the Writing Contest organised at this occasion[1].

2018 is a year of celebration for the EUPL, where we invite a wide European audience to re-discover all of our outstanding winning authors.

2018 is also a special year for Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, marking a centenary of independence. The EUPL took the opportunity of the Baltic countries being the Market Focus at the London Book Fair, to publish a special book featuring all previous nine EUPL winners from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania with excerpts from their winning books in both original language and translation.

The Baltic EUPL winners are Laura Sintija Černiauskaitė, Lithuania (2009), Tiit Aleksejev, Estonia (2010), Inga Zolude, Latvia (2011), Giedra Radvilavičiūtė, Lithuania (2012), Meelis Friedenthal, Estonia (2013), Janis Jonevs, Latvia (2014), Undinė Radzevičiūtė, Lithuania (2015), Paavo Matsin, Estonia (2016) and Osvalds Zebris, Latvia (2017).

Copies of this book will be distributed both at the opening ceremony and at the Market Focus stand.  

The three partners of the EUPL Consortium, the European Writers’ Council (EWC), the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), are pleased with the very successful cooperation with the London Book Fair in the past years and appreciates the continued support for the Prize’s activities.

For more details on the EUPL’s 10th anniversary, follow us on Facebook & Twitter.

For more information, contact Sophia Karner at

[1] 36 of the 106 EUPL winners participated in this contest and their short fiction about Europe (both in original language and in the English translation) will be released on 22nd May at an event in Brussels. Several juries will judge their entries and the closing ceremony will be in November 2018 in Vienna during the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the EU and alongside the Vienna Book Fair.