European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers


22 May 2018

EU Prize for Literature 10th Anniversary - Writing Contest Launch Event

In 2018 the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is celebrating its 10th anniversary. To mark this special occasion a virtual and physical journey through the literary Europe and a writing contest on the topic of Europe have been organised.

The EUPL Writing Contest “A European Story: EUPL Winners Write Europe” is a unique short fiction competition that celebrates the diversity of European literature, multiculturalism and 10 successful years of the European Union Prize for Literature.

We are proud to announce that 36 EUPL winning authors from a total of 26 different countries have submitted riveting “European stories”.

These works of short fiction, in both original versions and English translations, are compiled in the publication “European Stories”, which is available online here.

We encourage you to immerse yourselves into these fascinating stories, written by talented emerging writers from across Europe. You are invited to cast your vote for your favourite work of short fiction until 21 October 2018 here.

Myrto Azina Chronides – Cyprus (2010)

Walid Nabhan – Malta (2017)

Gabriela Babnik – Slovenia (2013)

Andrej Nikolaidis – Montenegro (2011)

Jean Back – Luxembourg (2010)

Armin Öhri – Liechtenstein (2014)

Aleksandar Bečanović – Montenegro (2017)

Emmanuelle Pagano – France (2009)

Lidija Dimkovska – FYROM (2013)

Kallia Papadaki – Greece (2017)

Rudi Erebara – Albania (2017)

Ioana Pârvulescu – Romania (2013)

Claudiu Florian – Romania (2016)

Magdalena Parys  - Poland (2015)

Adam Foulds – UK (2011)

Giedra Radvilavičiūtė – Lithuania (2012)

Jasmin B. Frelih – Slovenia (2016)

Carolina Schutti – Austria (2015)

Meelis Friedenthal – Estonia (2013)

Faruk Šehić – Bosnia and Herzegovina (2013)

Antonis Georgiou – Cyprus (2016)

Ófeigur Sigurðsson– Iceland (2011)

Gast Groeber – Luxembourg (2016)

Emilios Solomou – Cyprus (2013)

Çiler İlhan – Turkey (2011)

Tanja Stupar Trifunović – Bosnia and Herzegovina (2016)

Jānis Joņevs – Latvia (2014)

Noémi Szécsi – Hungary (2009)

Jelena Lengold – Serbia (2011)

Kalin Terziyski – Bulgaria (2011)

Sara Mannheimer – Sweden (2012)

Darko Tuševljaković – Serbia (2017)

Raquel Martínez Gómez – Spain (2010)

Isabelle Wéry – Belgium (2013)

Immanuel Mifsud – Malta (2011)

Osvalds Zebris – Latvia (2017)

In cooperation with the LIA Foundation[1], EUPL has insured that both the publication and the voting process are fully accessible to visually-impaired persons.

Everyone who participates in this public vote will automatically enter a draw and 10 lucky members of the public will win an exciting trip to Vienna to join our fabulous Awards Ceremony.

In addition to this public vote, the EUPL Writing Contest will also be judged by a professional jury, made up of distinguished experts from the field of literature. Furthermore, there will be a special MEPs Prize, awarded by Members of the European Parliament, as well as a special mention for Cultural Heritage.

The winners of the different categories will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, taking place in Vienna in November 2018.

Gunnar Ardelius, President of the European Writers’ Council (EWC), states:” ‘Writing Europe’ means releasing a dialogue between cultures and people, and telling stories about places, from the many sites of languages, created by talented emerging authors who have received the EUPL prize. Through the 2018 EUPL, we celebrate these creators of fiction, and highlight that ‘Writing Europe’ is also reading Europe in its heterogeneity.”

Henrique Mota, President of the European Publishers Federation (FEP), adds: “For these last 10 years, FEP has been very proud to be actively associated with this significant action promoting European literature and improving the circulation of works in Europe and beyond. And this year, it is an additional satisfaction that thanks to our work with the LIA Foundation, we have been thriving to make both the book with the 36 short fictions and the voting process for the contest, fully accessible to all readers.”

Jean-Luc Treutenaere, Co-President of the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), concludes: “The EUPL has been a fantastic adventure over the past ten years and this year represents a milestone in its history. We are celebrating ten years of European literature, creativity and most importantly cultural diversity. As a bookseller, it has been a pleasure to see so many of these winning books sold in their own country, but also across borders to the great benefit of European readers. Being able to offer Greek, Icelandic or Serbian books to readers in one’s bookshop brings an extraordinary richness and an incredibly wide cultural variety. On a personal note, I also wish to celebrate ten years of fruitful partnership and mutual respect between our three associations and the European Commission, without which the increasing success of the EUPL would not have been possible.”


EUPL 2018_10th anniversary launch event_PR_final.pdf