Creative Europe supports initiatives of translation and promotes literary works throughout EU markets, with the aim to raise accessibility of readership of high quality European literary writings.

Countries participating in the Creative Europe programme 2014-2020:

All Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden;

Non-EU countries: Iceland, Norway, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Tunisia, Armenia, Kosovo*, United Kingdom

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence
For more information on the Creative Europe programme, please see the Official journal of the European Union. 

What is it for ?

The objectives of the "Literary translation" scheme are to promote the transnational circulation of literature and its diversity in Europe and beyond and to expand the readership of quality translated books.

The scheme offers grants to eligible publishers for the co-financing of the translation, publication and promotion of a "package" of minimum 3 and maximum 10 works of fiction. The translation must be from, and into, eligible languages and either the source or the target language must be officially recognised in an EU Member States or an EFTA country.

The translation and promotion of books from lesser used languages into English, French, German or Spanish is encouraged as it increases the visibility of the books in Europe and beyond. The translation of books for which the authors have won the EU Prize for Literature is also encouraged.

The scheme is open to publishers and publishing houses with least 2 years of existence established in the EU or in other countries participating in the Creative Europe programme. Eligibility conditions are detailed in the guidelines of the call.

For further information, click here