Il s’agit du Prix de littérature de l'Union Européenne, une initiative annuelle soutenue par le programme "Europe créative" de l'Union européenne, et qui récompense les meilleurs écrivains de fiction émergents en Europe.

Objectif du Prix

L'ambition du Prix de littérature de l'Union européenne (EUPL) est de mettre en valeur la créativité et la richesse de la littérature contemporaine européenne dans le domaine de la fiction, de promouvoir la circulation de la littérature en Europe, et de susciter un intérêt accru pour les œuvres littéraires non nationales.


Le Prix est ouvert aux 41 pays actuellement engagés dans le programme Europe Créative. Chaque année, les organisations nationales d'un tiers des pays participants sélectionnent des romans, ce qui permet à tous les pays et à toutes les zones linguistiques d'être représentés sur un cycle de trois ans.


Le Prix est financé par le programme "Europe créative" de l'Union européenne, qui a trois objectifs principaux : promouvoir la mobilité transfrontalière des personnes travaillant dans le secteur culturel, encourager la circulation transnationale des productions culturelles et artistiques, et favoriser le dialogue interculturel.

Le consortium sélectionné par la Commission européenne pour coordonner l'initiative est composé de la Fédération des Éditeurs Européens (FEE) et de la Fédération Européenne et Internationale des Libraires (EIBF). Ces organisations sont conjointement responsables de l’organisation du Prix.


Le Prix existe depuis 2009, le premier cycle de trois ans s'étant achevé en 2011. Les cycles suivants ont eu lieu en 2012-2014, 2015-2017 et 2019-2022. Pour marquer le 10e anniversaire du Prix, une édition spéciale s’est tenue en 2018. L'année 2022 marque le début du cinquième cycle triennal, qui s'achèvera en 2024.


Le cinquième cycle du projet s’accompagne d’une restructuration complète du Prix. Désormais, au lieu de désigner un lauréat dans chacun des pays participants, un jury européen composé de sept membres désignera un lauréat général pour chaque édition de EUPL, tout en attribuant cinq mentions spéciales. 
Ce Prix sera décerné sur base d'une liste de livres nominés au niveau national, un pour chaque pays participant. Les auteurs et leurs romans seront désignés par des entités nationales connaissant bien la scène littéraire de leur pays, ayant l'habitude de promouvoir leur propre littérature à l'étranger et  possédant une expertise en matière de qualité littéraire, en évaluant le potentiel de traduction et d’exportation d’un livre. 


Bien qu’un seul lauréat reçoive le Prix, tous les auteurs nominés feront l’objet d’une promotion continue sur la scène européenne, afin de toucher un public plus large et international, et d’entrer en contact avec des lecteurs au-delà de leurs frontières nationales et linguistiques.


Selected countries in 2022: 

Austria, Belgium (Flemish speaking), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Spain and Ukraine.

The European Union Prize for Literature, supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, is an annual initiative recognising the best emerging fiction writers in Europe.

Aim of the Prize

The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The Prize competition is open to 41 countries currently involved in the Creative Europe programme. Each year, national organisations in a third of the participating countries nominate potential winning novels, making it possible for all countries and language areas to be represented over a three-year cycle.

The Prize is financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, which aims to achieve three main goals: promote cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector, encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output and foster intercultural dialogue.

The consortium selected by the European Commission to coordinate the initiative is composed by the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF). These organisations are jointly responsible for the practical implementation of the Prize.

The Prize has been running since 2009, with the first three-year cycle completed in 2011. The subsequent cycles took place in 2012-2014, 2015-2017, and 2019-2022. The 2018 edition was a special edition to mark the 10th anniversary of the Prize. 2022 marks the beginning of the fifth three-year cycle, which will be completed in 2024.

The fifth cycle of the project marks a complete restructuring of the Prize: instead of awarding one winner in each of the participating countries, a seven member European jury will now award one overall winner for each edition of EUPL, together with recognising five special mentions. The jury, having reviewed all 14 translated samples of the nominated books and their synopsis, will distinguish 6 books for their literary achievements and their potential to cross borders. Among these 6 titles, the jury will designate an overall winner.

This will be done based on a list of nationally nominated books, one for each participating country. The authors and their novels will be nominated by national entities, knowledgeable about the literary scene in their countries, used to promote their own literature abroad and which have expertise in literary quality, assessing the translatability and exportation potential of a book. 

Despite selecting one overall winner, all nominated authors will be continuously promoted on a European stage, aiming to reach a wider and international audience, as well as connect with readers beyond their national and linguistic borders.


Selected countries in 2022: 

Austria, Belgium (Flemish speaking), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Spain and Ukraine.