Anthology 2022

The 2022 EUPL Anthology called "European stories" presents the 14 EUPL authors from 2022 and excerpts from their nominated books in their original languages and translated into English or French.

Eugenia Kuznetsova

Eugenia Kuznetsova is a Ukrainian author, translator, and researcher. She was born and spent her childhood in the village of Khomutyntsi in central Ukraine. After graduating Kyiv National University, she received her PhD in literary analysis in Spain. Now, Eugenia works in media research, focusing on conflict-sensitive reporting and countering disinformation, and translates fiction and non-fiction. So far, Eugenia has published two books. Her first book Cook in Sorrow published in 2020.

Jacobo Bergareche

Jacobo Bergareche (London, 1976) abandoned his Fine Arts studies in Madrid to study Literature and Writing at Emerson College in Boston. He combines writing with his work as a producer and scriptwriter of series. He is author of the poem collection Playas (2004), the play Coma (2015), the series of children’s books Aventuras en Bodytown (2017), the autobiographical novel about his brother’s murder Estaciones de regreso (2019) and the novel Los días perfectos (Libros del Asteroide, 2021).

Richard Pupala

Richard Pupala studied journalism at Comenius University and scriptwriting at the Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava. To provide for his family while studying, he worked as barman, on the staff of several weeklies and, for two years, as copywriter with the Monarch agency. Currently he freelances as a scriptwriter and dramaturg with various production and TV companies. He and his wife live in the Petržalka district of Bratislava. In 2007 he won the short story competition Poviedka, publishing his first book, Návštevy (Visits), in 2014.

Raluca Nagy

Raluca Nagy (Cluj-Napoca, Romania, 1979) is an anthropologist and writer. She studied economics, anthropology and sociology in Bucharest, Rabat and Brussels. In addition to her academic publications, since 2005 Raluca has been publishing texts for wider audiences, as well as fiction, in various cultural magazines, mostly Romanian. After publishing a short prose in the collection Scrisori din Cipangu. Povestiri japoneze de autori români (Letters from Cipangu.

Kjersti Anfinnsen

Kjersti Anfinnsen, born in 1975, lives in Oslo where she works as a dentist. She has studied creative writing at the Tromsø Academy of Contemporary Art and at the Writing Academy in Bergen. In 2012, she made her debut with the novel Det var grønt (It Was Green). The novel De siste kjærtegn (The Last Signs of Love) was published in 2019 and has been translated into Russian and Danish. Anfinnsen has received several awards and author grants.

Vladimir Jankovski

Vladimir Jankovski (1977) has graduated General and Comparative literature at the Faculty of Philology „Blaze Koneski“ in Skopje. He worked as an editor in several publishing houses. He has published 3 novels: Hidden Desires, Restless Travels (2020), Invisible Loves (2015), and Eternal Present Time (2010). For the novel Hidden Desires, Unrest Travels he was awarded with the “Novel of the Year award” and for Invisible Loves he was awarded with “Racinovo Priznanie award” for the best prose book.

Tomas Vaiseta

Tomas Vaiseta (b. 1984) is a writer, historian and associate professor at the Faculty of History of Vilnius University. His debut collection of short stories Paukščių miegas (The Sleep of Birds, 2014) was included in the top five books for adults in the Book of the Year selection and the top twelve most creative books selected by the Institute of Lithuanian Literature and Folklore. His novel Orfėjas, kelionė pirmyn ir atgal (Orpheus: A Journey There and Back, 2016) also made it into the top five books for adults in the Book of the Year selection.

Daniele Mencarelli

Daniele Mencarelli (Rome 1974) is a poet and novelist. His latest collection, published in 2019, is Tempo Circolare (collected poems 2019-1997. His first novel La casa degli sguardi, Mondadori (Volponi prize, Severino Cesari first work prize, John Fante first work prize) is from 2018. Tutto chiede salvezza, his second novel, was released in 2020 and won the Strega Giovani Award. Sempre tornare closes an ideal autobiographical trilogy that began with La casa degli sguardi.